Greetings fellow Alumnae,

As the new president of the St. Margaret's Alumnae Association, I wanted to introduce myself to all St. Margaret's alumnae. I was raised on a dairy farm in King William Co., VA. My first connection to SMS was a family one: my older cousins Sally Townsend Hart '56 and Betty Rose Townsend Sexton '61 both graduated from SMS and my parents and I hoped that I could attend when it was time for me to choose a high school.

As I began boarding school in the fall of 1965, I could not have imagined the many connections I would make over the four years I spent at "my second home" in Tappahannock. The education, the opportunities and the friendships I gained are truly priceless. In my senior year, I began dating my now husband, John Hopkins, at one of the popular SMS/CCS socials. At the beginning of our marriage, we moved to Westmoreland County and we still reside there. John and I sent our two daughters to St. Margaret's as day students: Christina (Tina) Hopkins Spain '97 and Claire Townsend Hopkins '03. It was exciting to return to campus as a parent! Our family also includes our son, Spencer, and four grandchildren.

Following the leadership of Beth Crowther Angle '97, I was honored to be asked to serve as president. Sincere gratitude to Beth for her work over the past two years. Looking to the next couple years, I hope to form many new connections to alumnae during my two-year term. We will try to inform you of up-coming SMS events so you can join us to celebrate our school. Please stay connected! Below are important updates from St. Margaret's to keep in mind as August approaches.


Mary Anne Townsend Hopkins ’69 P'97 & '03

Alumnae Association President 2017-2019

2018-2019 Alumnae Association Board

  • Mary Anne Hopkins ’69 P’97 & P’03, President
  • Mary Emery Leipertz ’00, Vice President. Blue/Grey Connection Chair
  • Bette Jones Albert ’68, Golden Thistle Chair
  • Patricia Anne Webb ’03, Social Media Chair
  • Mary Catherine Sargeant '08, Fortson 5K Chair
  • Elizabeth Latane McCarthy ’13, Young Alumnae Co-Chair
  • Peyton Glenn Scott ’14, Young Alumnae Co- Chair
  • Beth Crowther Angle ’97, Past President